List of Sherpas for EU Constitution negotiations

It is German EU policy at its best: keep the process as intransparent and secret as possible, name high-level bureaucrats for the negotiations and keep the interested public out of sight. This is how Angela Merkel wants to prepare the Berlin Declaration as well as the road map for a Constitutional settlement.

The German Foreign Office (Auswärtiges Amt) obviously refuses to make public the names of the Sherpas (also knows as “focal points” these days). At least I was happy to hear last week that Commissioner Wallström strongly disagrees with this procedure (see my comment from last week).
Here comes the list of Sherpas that came across my eyes:

Germany: Reinhard Silberberg, foreign office (SPD) and Uwe Corsepius chancellory (CDU), (s. my comments from December)
EU Commission: João Vale de Almeida, Head of Cabinett Commission President Barroso and Christian Leffler, Head of Cabinett Commissioner Wallström
European Parliament: Klaus Welle, head of cabinet President Pöttering and Jose Luis Pacheco from AFCO secretariat
Austria: Bernhard Wrabetz, foreign policy adviser to Chancellor Gusenbauer and Alfred Oberreither, EU adviser to foreign minister
Belgium: Xavier Demoulin, director-general of the European Affairs department of the ministry of Foreign Affairs and Chris Hoornaert, member of cabinet of prime minister Verhofstadt
Bulgaria: Filip Bokov, head of PM’s cabinet and Valentin Radomirski, adviser to the PM.
Cyprus: Marios Lyssiotis, deputy director of president’s diplomatic office
Czech Republic: Jan Zahradil, ODS MEP and Jiri Sedivy, short-lived defence minister in Topolanek 1 government
Denmark: Erik Vilstrup Lorenzen, EU policy adviser in PM’s office and Michael Zilmer-Johns in ministry of foreign affairs
Estonia: Gert Antsu, director EU affairs in state chancellory and Kaja Tael, undersecretary for EU affairs
France: Jean-David Levitte, adviser to President
Finland: Mr Jukka Salovaara, special adviser on EU affairs to PM Vanhanen – for Berlin Declaration and Ms Helena Tuuri, State Under-Secretary, EU Affairs in the PM’s office as well as Mr. Kare Halonen, Director General for the Department for Europe in the Foreign Ministry
Greece: Konstantinos Bitsios, deputy head of PM’s diplomatic office and Thrassyvoulos Stamatopoulos, head of EU affairs in MFA
Hungary: Zoltan Gal and Gabor Ivan
Ireland: Dan Mulhall, Director General in EU division of MFA and Eoin O’Leary, assistant SG in PM office
Italy: Renato Ruggiero, European adviser – for Berlin Declaration – and Stefano Sannino, diplomatic adviser to PM – for Constitution
Latvia: Normunds Popens, undersecretary of state for EU affairs and Peteris Ustubs, European adviser to PM
Lithuania: Zygimantas Pavilionis, undersecretary in the ministry of foreign affairs and Darius Zeruolis, deputy government secretary for EU affairs
Luxemburg: Arlette Conzemius, director economic relations in MFA and Sandra Thein, diplomatic adviser to PM
Malta: Richard Cachia Caruana and Cecilia Attard Pirotta
Netherlands: Jan Versteeg, EU advisor to PM Balkenende and Ian de Jong, DG European Affairs in Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Poland: Marek Cichocki, advisor to the president and Ewa Osniecka-Tamecka, state secretary in Ministry of European Integration
Portugal: Manuel Lobo Antunes, MFA, Secretary of State for EU Affairs and Nuno Brito, MFA, Director General for EU Affairs and Jorge Rosa de Oliveira, Diplomatic Advisor to the Prime Minister
Romania: Calin Fabian, PM’s diplomatic adviser and Adrian Vierita, state secretary for EU affairs
Slovak Republic: Pavol Hamzik, PM’s foreign policy adviser and Olga Algayerova, state secretary
Slovenia: Janez Lenarcic, state secretary for European affairs
Spain: Alberto Navarro, State Secretary for the EU and Carles Casajuana, political adviser for international affairs for the Spanish government
Sweden: Nicola Clase, state secretary for foreign affairs in PM’s office and Thorbjörn Haak, EU coordination in PM’s office
UK: Mr Kim Darroch, Blair’s EU adviser and head of Cabinet Office European Secretariat and Ms Shan Morgan, EU director general in the FCO (according to Parliament’s question)

This list will be constantly updated – if you have any corrections or further names, please use the comment option and let me know.

Please also check JEF’s website under for possible updates on the list. – And let us see if the German government will ever confirm this list…

6 thoughts on “List of Sherpas for EU Constitution negotiations

  1. Tomáš Ruta

    Jan Zahradil is the most ardent opponent of the Constitution in Czechia. He was the choice of President Klaus, not of the new prime minister Topolánek. However, his arguments are always well-reasoned and his delivery is also among the finest.

    The whole direction of Czech foreign policy is now very unclear, with the President trying to impose his ideas, somewhat unconstitutionally, on the weak government. I hope to write a post explaining the whole situation soon.

  2. Pingback: Nosemonkey / Europhobia » Europe’s story

  3. Kosmopolit

    Transparency has succeeded! This week’s European Voice brings a list of all sherpas. The EV list features the same names as your list and adds the following:
    Hungary: Zoltan Gal/ Gabor Ivan
    Lithuania: Zygimantas Pavillionis
    Denmark: Michael Zilmer-Johns
    Malta: Richard Cachia Caruana/ Cecilia Attard Pirotta

  4. Michelle Micallef

    Dear Jan

    I would like to add the following information for everybody’s benefit in so far as the advisors for Malta are concerned:

    Richard Cachia Caruana, Permanent Representative of Malta to the EU and Chairman Inter-Ministerial Committee for EU Affairs
    Cecilia Attard Pirotta, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

  5. Pingback: Spiegel pessimistisch über deutsche Bloggerszene : Jan’s EUblog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.